View in Browser


Stethoscopes for all Incoming Students

Thanks to alumni support, the Miller Class of 2023 was welcomed with stethoscopes at the John G. Clarkson Freshman White Coat and Pinning Ceremony. "It's inspiring...I want to be the best physician I can be," said Marquese Noel-McCormick, first-year Miller School student. Watch the video



Curing Diseases of the Pancreas

Jamie Barkin, M.D. ’70, and Jodie Barkin, M.D. ’11, have many things in common, including a dedication to state-of-the-art patient treatment and a deep connection to their alma mater.




A Champion for Patients

Maria T. Abreu, M.D. ’90, receives the 2019 Sherman Prize for outstanding achievements in the fight to overcome inflammatory bowel diseases.


Finding the Cure

Barry  Baumel, M.D. ’74, is embarking on a groundbreaking clinical trial to treat, and possibly reverse, the effects of Alzheimer's disease.



Future Physicians Wear Their White Coats

Alex J. Mechaber, M.D., ’94, professor of medicine, Dr. Bernard J. Fogel Endowed Chair in Medical Education, and senior associate dean for medical education, welcomes the Class of 2023 during the 2019 John G. Clarkson Freshman White Coat and Pinning Ceremony. Watch this video of future physicians putting on their white coat and receiving the Miller School pin from an alumnus/na.



We welcome new leadership

Medical Alumni Association President

Ana I. Gonzalez, M.D. ’85, recently began her term as president of the Medical Alumni Association. She replaces immediate past-president, Robin Straus Furlong, M.D. ’82.

Medical Alumni Weekend, March 6 - 7, 2020

Welcome Back to the U!

Engage with your classmates, enhance your education, and embrace the future of the Miller School at the Alumni Weekend! Read more



A Role Model

Monica Broome, M.D. ’89, receives the Exceptional Mentor Award from the American Medical Women’s Association.

Conquering HIV/AIDS

Margaret Fischl, M.D. ’76, is one of the principle investigators of an ambitious seven-year project exploring cutting-edge HIV research.

The U Responds to Hurricane Dorian

Elizabeth Greig, M.D. ’10, spoke about the potential needs of the Bahamian people. More than 100 doctors at the Miller School and UHeath have offered to volunteer. Find ways to support relief efforts here.

Continuing a Tradition of Excellence

The chairman of four of our outstanding clinical departments at the Miller School are UM med school alumni 

  • Keith A. Candiotti, M.D. ’89, Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Medicine and Pain Management
  • Robert S. Kirsner, M.D. ’88, Ph.D. ’04, Dr. Phillip Frost Department of Dermatology and Cutaneous Surgery
  • Alan Pollack, M.D. ’87, Ph.D. ’80, Department of Radiation Oncology
  • Fred F. Telischi, M.D. ’85, Department of Otolaryngology



Steve Charles, M.D. ’69, was named to the Ophthalmologist’s Power List 2019.

Adrian Burrowes, M.D. ’00, was appointed as CEO and managing partner of CFP Physicians Group.

George Laramore, Ph.D., M.D. ’76, received the 2019 National Association for Proton Therapy Lifetime Achievement Award.

David S. Wilkinson, Ph.D., M.D. ’78, is professor of pathology at the Virginia Commonwealth University.

Frederic Guerrier, M.D. ’81, was the recipient of the Hippocrates Award, presented by the St. Anthony’s Hospital Foundation.

Charles Wiener, M.D. ’82, named as the president of Johns Hopkins Medicine International.

Robert London, M.D. ’71, recently published a book titled "Find Freedom Fast: Short-Term Therapy That Works."

What are you up to? Keep your classmates up-to-date. Click here and submit your career updates!






Is your reunion in 2020? Email us to get involved


Career updates? Let your classmates know


Stay Connected with UM alumni in your area


Give Now

The John K. Robinson Fund

Stethoscopes for Students

Medical Alumni Affairs